Welcome!

Hello and welcome to A Venerable Puzzle! I’ve been blogging about the British constitution over at my personal blog (The House of Life) for some time now, but in the interests of making that site less of a gallimaufry, I’ve decided to spin off my Westminster-related musings into a separate blog.

My fascination with British history began way back in high school when I had to write a paper for AP European History on the court of Star Chamber. It stuck with me through my undergraduate years, and I went on to receive an MA in British history from the University of Wisconsin–Madison. Although my specialty was ecclesiastical law in the early modern period (my thesis was on the Convocation of Canterbury), I also developed a taste for the wider constitutional issues, particularly those relating to the monarchy and the House of Lords.

Most of my posts will focus on the triad of Crown, Parliament, and Church in the UK. I’ll go beyond the headlines and provide the sort of perspective that’s often missing from the daily news. I’ll also embark on periodic excursuses to other Commonwealth realms such as Canada, Australia, and New Zealand since it’s fascinating to see how they’ve adapted the British model.

I love hearing from my readers, so if you have any questions or if there’s a topic you’d like me to focus on, feel free to let me know in the comments!

-Jason

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

